How to Find out If Someone Has Car Insurance

Involved in an accident and want to know whether or not the other party has insurance? Read our guide to learn how to find out if someone has car insurance

Get Your Free Case Review

Current wait: 11 seconds

How to Find out If Someone Has Car Insurance

California law requires all drivers to carry a minimum of $15,000 in personal injury liability insurance, $30,000 in cumulative bodily injury liability insurance, and $5,000 in property loss liability insurance. Auto insurance establishes a driver’s proof demonstrating his or her ability to compensate for an at-fault car accident. Admittedly, hundreds of California drivers are uninsured.
find car insurance information
A car accident with an uninsured motorist can make obtaining coverage for your losses more difficult. Oftentimes, the first step toward compensation is determining whether or not the other driver carries insurance.

Ask While at the Scene

One of the simplest ways to obtain a driver’s insurance record is to immediately request it from the vehicle’s owner on the scene of the car accident. Regardless of who is at fault for the crash, both drivers will typically request the other driver’s insurance details. California Vehicle Code 20002 requires all passengers involved in a collision to come to a safe stop and share details with the other driver as soon as possible.
California Vehicle Code 20002 requires all passengers involved in a collision to come to a safe stop and share details with the other driver as soon as possible.
Additionally, under California Vehicle Code 16025, a driver is required to exchange the following information:
  • name and current address
  • driver’s license number
  • the vehicle registration number
  • the vehicle’s owner’s address.

At the scene, inquire about the insurance card of the opposing driver. Take notes or take a snapshot of the card’s content. If the other driver does not share this information the police should collect evidence of their insurance coverage on your behalf.

los angeles personal injury lawyers

Avvo Clients' Choice Award

Client Choice recognizes those law firms that stand apart for the excellent client care they provide and the quality of their service.

Call the Police

In California, any traffic accident involving personal injury, deaths, or collateral loss totaling at least $1,000 needs prompt police notification from the site of the incident. Calling the police will assist you as a crash victim by formally recording critical details such as the other driver’s identity, contact information, and insurance information. The opposing driver is constitutionally required to have evidence of insurance to responding police officers. If the other driver is not licensed, the police will issue a warrant to deter the driver from driving while uninsured.
After a hit-and-run accident in California, it is important to contact the cops. Take down the license plate number and a description of the car that hit you, if possible. Provide this detail to the police in order for them to assist you in locating the individual. The police will do a license plate check and provide you with the insurance records for the at-fault driver. Additionally, the police will assist you in determining if the at-fault driver carries sufficient automobile insurance to offset the losses.

Visit the Department of Motor Vehicles

If you did not collect the other driver’s insurance details at the scene and did not contact the police for help, the next move is to visit the Department of Motor Vehicles of your county (DMV). If you have a legitimate cause, such as being a victim of a hit-and-run car accident, your local DMV office might send you the other driver’s insurance details. Consult your nearest DMV to ascertain if it has the insurance records for the other driver on file. You must provide the office with all details you have about the at-fault driver, as well as the explanation for your appeal.

Call the Insurance Company

If you just have part of the driver’s insurance details, such as the insurance company’s name but not the policy number, you will be able to contact the driver’s insurer for more information. The driver’s insurance provider will be able to provide you with more details about liability limits and your ability to recover losses. And if the other driver vanishes or declines to respond to your communications, you will be entitled to file a lawsuit with the other driver’s insurance company. If you need further help in determining if anyone has automobile insurance or in obtaining payment from the insured, contact a Los Angeles car accident lawyer.

Fair Cases Law Group, Personal Injury Lawyers
5411 S. Broadway Ave, Suite 200,
Los Angeles CA 90037
833-324-7111
www.faircases.com

Free Case Review

Phone: (833) 324-7111

Email: [email protected]