Reporting a Car Accident in California

Report a car accident in California. Read on to learn about how and why to report a car accident in California.

Get Your Free Case Review

Current wait: 11 seconds

Do You Have to Report a Car Accident in California?

Every day, car crashes occur in California. The likelihood of you being involved in an accident is very high. In 2016, 3,623 people died in California motor vehicle accidents. Per year, thousands of car crashes kill people and claim lives. One of the most critical things you will do as a crash survivor to protect your interests is to report the crash.
Los Angeles Car Accident Report
An accident report will serve as official documentation of the collision and aid in bringing the responsible party to justice. Prompt reporting can assist you in obtaining financial compensation.

Call 911 From the Scene

As a driver involved in a serious collision, one of your responsibilities is to dial 911 from the scene of the incident. In California, drivers are required to report traffic crashes to authorities if they result in injury, fatalities, or collective property loss of more than $1,000. Additionally, some cities in California encourage crash participants to contact the police after less serious traffic crashes.
Following a wreck, stay at the scene near the crash site. Call 911 for the nearest law enforcement facility using your cellphone. Report the injury in detail, including your location and any injuries sustained. The wounded parties should be taken to a hospital or get emergency medical attention. Then, remain at the scene before the police appear and authorize your departure.
The responding officer will conduct an investigation of the incident, take official photos of the scene, and complete a California Traffic Accident Report. If the collision results in collateral loss of $1,000 or more, injury, or death, the officer will complete and apply this form to officials. The police will also cooperate if any driver demands the form.
los angeles personal injury lawyers

Avvo Clients' Choice Award

Client Choice recognizes those law firms that stand apart for the excellent client care they provide and the quality of their service.

Fill Out Report SR 1

If a police officer completes an injury report, he or she must file it to the Department of Motor Vehicles no later than 14 days after the day of the accident (if submitted electronically) or 15 days after the end of the month in which the officer completed the report (if not submitted electronically). Otherwise, you are required to file a written account of the accident within 24 hours under California Vehicle Code section 20008.
The Department of Motor Vehicles requires you to submit a Traffic Accident Report SR 1. Each driver is required to apply this form within ten days of the collision. SR 1 will assist all those involved in the crash in recalling all relevant information and data as they are still new in the driver’s memory. It is a service that can prove valuable in the future, during the course of investigating a traffic crash and/or filing a personal injury case. Additionally, the insurance provider can request a copy of the SR 1.

Contact an Insurance Company

Additionally, you must mention a traffic accident to the insurance company in California. To begin, call the insurance company for the party responsible for your car crash. Within California’s tort-based insurance policy, the at-fault party would be financially liable for the losses. Describe the accident and respond frankly to the insurance adjuster’s questions without taking responsibility for the collision. Politely refuse to provide the insurance adjuster with a written response. Then, consult with a leading Los Angeles car accident lawyer to determine the best course of action for your insurance claim.

Get a Copy of Your Police Report in California

Obtaining a copy of the police report can assist you in completing an insurance claim and/or bringing a claim in court against the at-fault party. After a collision, you can get a copy of the police report by contacting the police station of the county where the collision happened. To obtain copies of the survey, visit the Records Unit and pay a small charge. Additionally, for a small fee, you will be able to order a police collision report online. To find your accident online, you’ll need some simple information about it. You will have to wait several days after the collision for the police station to release the file.

Fair Cases Law Group, Personal Injury Lawyers
5411 S. Broadway Ave, Suite 200,
Los Angeles CA 90037
833-324-7111
www.faircases.com

Free Case Review

Phone: (833) 324-7111

Email: [email protected]